home

 

telescopes and deep sky

 

Most people that share that lifelong interest in the stars and the universe say that they had one or two key events that sparked everything. For me, the first key event was in spring 1976, when my father woke me up very early one morning to show me comet West low at the eastern horizon. I was eight years old at that time and the view of this comet was just overwhelming.  The second spark was in 1998, in Chaco Canyon, a small National Park in New Mexico, USA, when I saw a truss tube Dob for the first time. Each night, its owner offered tours of the night sky to the National Park visitors. Late in one of those evenings, after all other visitors had left, he allowed me to use his Dob to explore the Milky Way on my own, in the middle of the desert, far away from any cities. I had seen and used a few telescopes before, but that Dob was a revelation: a telescope reduced to its very essentials.

Some time later, back in Germany, I discovered the website of Stathis Kafalis with his homemade mirrors and telescope masterpieces, and I started building my own 8-inch travel dob using an existing mirror. The next step in my career as a telescope maker was grinding the mirror for my 14-inch Dobson. This was followed later by a 22" lowrider Dob, for which I made both primary and secondary mirrors. Despite its large aperture, this telescope is still very transportable and is presently the telescope I use mainly for my deep sky observing. 

Despite having made a number of mirrors and telescopes, I still consider myself mainly an observer, exploring the night sky at the eyepiece. Tracking the interwoven filaments of the veil nebula to their very ends, observing distant clusters of tiny galaxies, the uncountable stars of a globular cluster, or trying to glimpse obscure objects at the threshold of visibility -- these are impressions at the telescope that cannot be described in words.

Making my telescopes, I have profited from all the websites of other telescope makers, who documented the making of their telescopes and their ideas in the internet, and who convinced me that making a telescope is feasible at all.

O

 recent updates:

02/2017
Aufzählung

Young Stellar Objects: update

Aufzählung

Large PN update: observations


08/2016
Aufzählung

Abell PN update: Observing reports of Abell 41, 42, 43, 48, 56, 59, 60, 62, 66, 71, 72, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 85

11/2015
Aufzählung

Exotic: A detailed view of the Veil's Southern Bubble

Aufzählung

Exotic: NGC 6946 and 6939, a nice pair in Cepheus

08/2015
Aufzählung

12" Dob: A new telescope for a Lightbridge mirror set

Aufzählung

ATM: Soldering massive spiders

Aufzählung

Exotic: update Cocoon Nebula

05/2015
Aufzählung

Exotic: APM 08279+5255 Quasar in Lynx

Aufzählung

Things to have: TS XWA 100° Eyepieces

04/2015
Aufzählung

Things to have: Cartes du Ciel Deep Sky catalogs

Aufzählung

Observing Reports: DSM 2015 Observing List

03/2015
Aufzählung

Exotic: update Sirius B

02/2015
Aufzählung

Young Stellar Objects: update

08/2014

Aufzählung

Observing Reports

11/2013
Aufzählung

Filter: update and new spectra

10/2013
Aufzählung

Hickson Groups update: observing reports of all 100 groups

03/2013
Aufzählung

Sharpless HII update: images and descriptions

Aufzählung

Abell PN update: images and descriptions

Aufzählung

Filter spectra  update spectra of the DSM 2013

Aufzählung

Wolf-Rayet shells  update

Aufzählung

Young Stellar Objects  update Thommes' Nebula

12/2012
Aufzählung

Protoplanetary Nebula update

Aufzählung

Wolf-Rayet shells  new

09/2012
Aufzählung

Filter spectra  new

Aufzählung

Physiology of vision new

Aufzählung

Sharpless HII update: images and descriptions

08/2012
Aufzählung

Sharpless HII update: observations

Aufzählung

Large PN update: observations

Aufzählung

Sharpless 91 and Friends new

Aufzählung

Exotic  new: in English

06/2012
Aufzählung

Large PN update: Outters 4

04/2012
Aufzählung

Sharpless HII update: more objects

Aufzählung

10" f/5 travel Dob new

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

home

home

 

dobsons bauen und deep sky

 

Die meisten, die sich für die Sterne und das Weltall begeistern können, hatten ein oder zwei Schlüsselerlebnisse, die dieses Interesse geweckt haben. Mein erstes war im Frühling 1976, als mich mein Vater früh morgens weckte und mir den Kometen West tief im Osten am Morgenhimmel zeigte. Ich war damals 8 Jahre alt und ich fand den Kometen einfach überwältigend. Mein zweites war 1998 in Chaco Canyon, einem kleinen Nationalpark in New Mexico (USA), als ich zum ersten Mal ein Dobson-Teleskop sah. Der Besitzer führte jeden Abend interessierte Nationalparkbesucher in den Sternenhimmel ein. Spät an einem solchen Abend war ich der letzte, der von den Besuchern noch übrig geblieben war, und konnte noch ein bisschen alleine mit dem Dobson die Milchstraße abgrasen, mitten in der Wüste, weitab von jeder Stadt. Ich hatte damals schon mit einigen Teleskopen und mit Fernglas beobachtet, aber ein Dobson war einfach eine ganz neue Welt: Ein Teleskop, auf das Wesentliche reduziert.

Später entdeckte ich dann Stathis Kafalis Website mit seinen selbst gemachten Spiegeln und Dobson-Teleskopen, und ich begann mir meinen Reisedobson für einen vorhandenen 8" Spiegel zu bauen, den ich immer noch als leichtes, kompaktes Urlaubsteleskop benutze. Mein erster selbst gemachter Spiegel war dann der meines 14-Zoll Dobsons, inzwischen habe ich einen voll transportablen 22-Zoll Lowrider Dobson, bei dem ich neben dem Teleskop sowohl  Haupt- als auch Fangspiegel selbst hergestellt habe.  Mit diesen Teleskopen beobachte ich hauptsächlich in den Bergen des Südschwarzwalds, wo es immer noch genügend dunkle Ecken auf etwa 1200 m Höhe gibt.

Obwohl ich viel Zeit in die Planung und den Bau meiner Teleskope gesteckt habe, sind sie für mich doch in erster Linie Mittel zum Zweck, zum Beobachten, irgendwo draußen unter dem Sternenhimmel. Die Filamente des Cirrusnebel in einer Sommernacht bis zu seinen letzten Ausläufern abzufahren, die winzigen Galaxien eines weit entfernten Galaxienhaufens zu sehen, oder am Rande der Wahrnehmung Objekte auszumachen, die noch kaum jemand zuvor beobachtet hat ...  das sind Eindrücke, die man nur selbst am Okular erleben kann und die sich nur schwer in Worten ausdrücken lassen.

 

Neues auf meiner Webseite:   

04/2017
Aufzählung

14" Dob: update

Aufzählung

14" travel Dob: update


02/2017
Aufzählung

Young Stellar Objects: update Beobachtungen

Aufzählung

Große PN: update Beobachtungen


08/2016
Aufzählung

Abell PN: update Beobachtungen Abell 41, 42, 43, 48, 56, 59, 60, 62, 66, 71, 72, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 85

 

11/2015
Aufzählung

Exotik: Der Cirrus-Südbogen im Detail

Aufzählung

Exotic: NGC 6946 und 6939 im Cepheus

08/2015
Aufzählung

12" Dobson: Ein neues Teleskop für eine Lightbridge-Optik

Aufzählung

Dobsons bauen: Massivspinnen verlöten

Aufzählung

Exotik: update Cocoon Nebel

05/2015
Aufzählung

Exotic: APM 08279+5255 Quasar in Lynx

Aufzählung

Nützliche Dinge: TS XWA 100° Okulare

04/2015
Aufzählung

Nützliche Dinge: Cartes du Ciel Deep Sky Kataloge

Aufzählung

Deep Sky Reports: Beobachtungsliste DSM 2015

03/2015
Aufzählung

Exotik: update Sirius B

02/2015
Aufzählung

Young Stellar Objects: update

08/2014

Aufzählung

Deep Sky Reports

11/2013
Aufzählung

Filter: update und neue Spektren

10/2013
Aufzählung

Hickson Gruppen update: Beobachtungsberichte aller 100 Gruppen

03/2013
Aufzählung

Sharpless HII update: Bilder und Beschreibungen

Aufzählung

Abell PN update: Bilder und Beschreibungen

Aufzählung

Filter Spektren  update Spektren des DSM 2013

Aufzählung

Wolf-Rayet Nebel  update

Aufzählung

Young Stellar Objects  update Thommes' Nebula

11/2012

Aufzählung

Protoplanetarische Nebel update

Aufzählung

Wolf-Rayet Nebel  neu

Aufzählung

Justage  neu

09/2012

Aufzählung

Filter Spektren  neu

Aufzählung

Physiologie des Sehens neu

Aufzählung

Sharpless HII update: Bilder und Beschreibungen

08/2012
Aufzählung

Sharpless HII update: Beobachtungen

Aufzählung

Große PN update: Beobachtungen

Aufzählung

Sharpless 91 and Friends neu

Aufzählung

Exotic neu: in English

06/2012
Aufzählung

Große PN update: Outters 4

04/2012
Aufzählung

Sharpless HII update: mehr Objekte

Aufzählung

10" f/5 Reise-Dobson neu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

home