home

wolf-rayet shells

 

Sharpless 308 by  Marco Lorenzi

 

Wolf-Rayet (WR) stars are massive stars above 20 solar masses which have left the main sequence and which will eventually go supernova. During this evolution away from the main sequence, the star expands beyond its Roche limit, such that its outer parts are blown away as a strong stellar wind. The remaining core of the massive star forms the actual WR star, being extremely hot with a temperature between 30000 and 120000 K. The WR star emits therefore most of its light in the ultraviolet range and does not need to be particularly bright in the visible range.

The spectral marker of a WR star is the presence of broad emission lines, which are due to the highly accelerated stellar winds, and usually the absence of hydrogen absorption bands. These stars were first discovered by Charles Wolf and Georges Rayet in the 1860ies and puzzling due to the emission bands in there otherwise continuous spectra.

image credit: www.threehillsobservatory.co.uk

The spectrum of WR 135 in Cygnus taken by amateur astronomer Robin Leadbeater reveals the strong, broadened emission bands of the stellar wind superimposed to the continuous black body spectrum of the actual star.

The stellar winds of WR stars may give rise to bubble-shaped nebula which have often very strong OIII emission lines, making them interesting targets for visual observers.

 

How are Wolf-Rayet ring nebula formed?

Gruendl and colleagues have suggested a relatively simple model for the different morphologies of WR ring nebula, which is based on prior work and the "three wind model" of Garcia-Segura and colleagues.

WR ring nebula are formed as a shock front caused by three stellar winds which were ejected by the stars at different times. During its main sequence life time, the WR precursor is a hot an massive star of spectral class O, which clears its immediate environment by strong radiation and creates a local bubble in the interstellar medium (first wind). This first rarefied wind has typical velocities of 103 km/s and mass loss rates of 10-6 to 10-7 solar masses per year.

When the star enters shell burning, it expands to a red super giant (RSG), leaving its outer layers only loosely bound to the star, such that they are eventually blown off as a "slow wind" or RSG wind, which is quite dense. Typical velocities of this RSG wind are 10-25 km/s and mass loss rates of 10-4 to 10-5 solar masses per year.

This stellar wind becomes  faster as the star enters the WR stage. As this fast WR wind sweeps up the material of the slower RSG wind, a shock front is formed and hence a WR ring nebula. Typical velocities of the WR wind are again 103 km/s with mass loss rates of 10-4 to 10-5 solar masses per year. This WR ring nebula resides within the interstellar bubble created by the first wind in this three wind model. Eventually, the WR wind may break out of the slow RSG wind and expand then into this interstellar bubble.

 

Structure of Wolf-Rayet ring nebula

WR ring nebula show very different structures and morphologies. How do these different morphologies arise? Gruendl and colleagues suggested a relatively simple mechanism, which is mainly based on the fact that emission of HII and [OIII] are caused by different exctitational mechanisms. [OIII] emission is based on a transition, of which the upper, excited level in the oxygen ions is populated mainly by collisional excitation, while emission of HII is based on recombination of hydrogen ions (i.e. protons) with free electrons. While emission of [OIII] increases with increasing temperature, the line strength of HII decreases with increasing temperature, as recombination is inhibited.

As the fast WR wind sweeps up the slower RSG wind, a shock front is formed that is very hot at its front side, leading to the emission of mainly [OIII]. By radiative cooling, the temperature decreases in regions closer to the central WR star, such that these inner regions will emit HII radiation as well.

Radiative cooling is the more efficient the denser the medium of the shock front. In a high density medium the temperature decreases rapidly behind the shock front, such that regions of HII emission follow very closely the [OIII] front. As the medium is more tenuous, [OIII] and HII regions become spatially separated. For very tenuous media or for media with strong variations of the density, we can trace by the [OIII] emission the actual shock front and by the HII emission the denser inner areas of the medium. Variations in the density of the medium can therefore lead to "bulges" in the [OIII] shells, which are termed "break-out" structures. Break-out structures are easily discerned for instance in the Crescent Nebula or Sharpless 308.

In their paper, Gruendl et al. examine a series of WR ring nebula and try to resolve the different morphologies of these nebulas using [OIII] and H-alpha imaging. With their model, they try to explain the observed structural differences by a relatively simple mechanism.

 

Papers

Gruendl RA, Chu YH, Dunne BC, Points SD (2000) A morphological diagnostic for dynamical evolution of Wolf-Rayet bubbles. Astronomical Journal 120: 2670-2678

Garcia-Segura and Mac Low (1995) Astrophysical Journal 455:145

Garcia-Segura and Mac Low (1995) Astrophysical Journal 455:160

Heckathorn et al. (1982) Astrophysical Journal 252:230

Chu, Treffers and Kwitter (1983) Astrophysical Journal S53:937

 

Download finder charts for the Wolf-Rayet nebula as pdf file

 

Observing Reports

EZ CMa (WR 6) and Sharpless 308 in Canis Major

06 54 13    -23 55 42

 

Starting point for the star hop to Sharpless 308 is o1 CMa. This star is embedded in the open cluster Collinder 121, which is unspectacular even in binoculars and does not really stand out as a cluster. Shifting o1 CMa into the middle of the field of view of the finder eyepiece, you will be surprised by the view when you switch to OIII filtering (most spectacular, of course, with a filter slide or wheel). The OIII filter shows you a ghostly crescent of glowing gas, that extends from o1 CMa first towards NW and then towards N as part of a huge bubble of 40' diameter. This bubble is not related to o1 CMa itself, but is the blown of outer shell of EZ CMA, the Wolf Rayet star WR 6, about 20' N of o1 CMa, in the middle of the bubble.

With my 14" Dob, the western crescent is the brightest part and can be easily followed with OIII filter. Towards NW, the crescent becomes fainter. On the image to the right  and other deep narrowband images by Don Goldman and Marco Lorenzi (see top of this page), one can see a "rupture" of the bubble and a decrease of the surface brightness.

With my 22" Dob, I can follow the shell well beyond this area. At around 11 o'clock, there is another condensation where the shell becomes brighter before it slowly fades out in the eastern part.

Under excellent conditions with perfect transparency down to the horizon, I could see the entire shell, including the eastern part, that closes the circle towards o1 CMa. With 7mm exit pupil, the shell appeared filled with an extremely faint OIII glow, which disappeared at smaller exit pupils.

 

image by Marco Lorenzi

image by Don Goldman

image by Anis Abdul

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

WR 7 and Thor's Helmet NGC 2359 in Canis Major

07 18 29    -13 13 02

 

This is a bright, very distinct, and highly structured nebula, responding again extremely well to OIII filtering.

 

The central bubble of the WR shell appears structured. A bright bar extends from S of the bubble towards WSW. There are several fainter, but still distinct extensions towards NW and NE.

 

wikipedia

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

WR 102 and G2.4 +1.4 in Sagittarius

17 45 48   -26 10 27

 

This WR shell is in a very dense star field in Sagittarius.

 

Not yet observed.  

 

WR 124 (Merrill's Star) and Sharpless 80/M1-67 in Sagitta

19 11 31   +16 51 38

 

Sharpless 80 aka Minkowski 1-67 is an extremely faint shell around WR 124. Unlike most other WR shells, Sharpless 80 has hardly any OIII emission, but mostly NII and, a little less, HII.

 

My observing notes with my 22" Dob:

08/2008: unsuccessful

06/2010: suspected as a faint glow around WR star with H beta filter

10/2010: at 350x and with H beta filter, a diffuse glow was observed around the WR star.

08/2012: under excellent conditions, at 200 and 350x visible already without filter as an extremely faint shell. There is a small contrast gain with H beta filter.

www.eso.org

 

 

 

 

 

WR 128 shell in Sagitta

19 48 32   +18 12 04

 

This is an extremely faint WR shell in Sagitta, close to Sharpless 84 (parts of it visible in the upper left corner of the DSS image).

During two observing sessions with my 22" f/4.5 Dob and the 13mm Nagler with OIII filter, a segment in the NE part of the shell was suspected as an extremely faint filament. This corresponds to the brightest part of the shell in the OIII image by Gruendl.

Lionel Mulato was the first to take an excellent narrow band image of this WR nebula suggesting a quite elongated shell structure.

image by Lionel Mulato

 

 

 

 

 

WR 134 shell in Cygnus

20 10 14    +36 10 35

 

This Wolf-Rayet bubble is not listed in any catalog, despite it is well visible on the DSS. When I observed this shell for the first time during spring of 2009, I knew of only a single prior observation by Matthias Kronberger. My interest in this shell was stimulated by a narrow band image by JP Metsävainio. The WR shell is visible in the right part of this mosaic as a distinctly blue OIII crescent, using the Hubble palette version.

The shell is roughly half ways between the Tulip Nebula, Sharpless 101, and the Crescent Nebula, NGC 6888. With my 22" Dob, the WR shell is not or only hardly visible without filter and reacts extremely well to the OIII filter. With filter it appears as a crescent of roughly 15', opened towards east. Its appearance and brightness is similar to that of another WR shell Sharpless 308 in Canis Major, which is, however, considerably larger.

This shell is not difficult at all and is also faintly visible with my 8" Dob and OIII filter from my suburban backyard.

The association of the shell with WR 134 is not certain, despite that WR 134 (the middle star in the distinct row of three stars) is in the center of the bubble. Instead WR 135, another mag 8 WR star about 15' east of WR 134 was suspected to be the true origin of the shell. This would agree as well with the further OIII emission on the image linked above.

Other fantastic images of this shell were taken by Don Goldman and Travis Rector.

 

iopscience.iop.org/1538-3881/118/5/2394

adsabs.harvard.edu/abs/2009AstL...35..121S

DSS

narrowband image by Lionel Mulato, mouseover: OIII

 

 

 

 

 

WR 136 and the Crescent Nebula NGC 6888 in Cygnus

20 12 07   +38 21 18

7.7846

The Crescent Nebula is a relatively bright nebula and responds extremely well to the OIII filter. It is faintly visible even with 10x50 binoculars equipped with OIII filters.

With a large telescope it is faintly visible without filter. With OIII filter it is a bright object with a distinct crescent shaped shock front towards NW and a lesser defined edge towards SE. Along the NW shock front there are brighter segments, in particular N of the mag 7.5 WR central star. The inside of the nebula is filled with faint filaments. A somewhat brighter filament extends from the  WR star towards SE and other brighter filaments are in the SW part of the shell.

The WR shell shows a break-out structure of the WR bubble into the interstellar bubble towards WNW, leading to a protrusion of the WR shell that is visible in OIII images only. This protrusion is faintly visible at the eyepiece and extends towards a mag 8.0 field star.

 

wikipedia

 

 

Crescent Nebel in OIII and HII (mouseover) by Dean Salman

 

 

WR 157 and Sharpless 157 in Cassiopeia/Cepheus

23 15 12    +60 27 02

 

Sharpless 157 is not far from the Bubble Nebula in an area of the Cassiopeia/Cepheus border with many other emission nebula. With OIII filter, the main filament forms a large and visually obvious milky streak that is surrounded by other fainter filaments.

 

My observing notes (together with the annotated image to the right):

08/2005: A very long and relatively bright filament oriented NS is easily visible that responds extremely well to OIII filtering. S157a (bright knot in northern central part) best with H beta

11/2011: Main filament N/S oriented is most distinct (OIII). Faint patch E of it (OIII). Another shorter and weaker filament W of main filament (OIII). S part diffuse (H beta > OIII), consisting of two patches of which the  E patch contains 157a (H beta > OIII).

narrowband image by Dean Salman

OIIII and HII channel (mouseover) of the above image

 

 

 

 

"Atypical"  or uncertain Wolf-Rayet nebula

"Atypical" means here that the Nebula around the WR star is presumably not formed by the stellar wind of the WR star and hence not a classical Wolf-Rayet ring nebula. Instead, the nebula is more likely a classical (in part highly excited) HII region that is ionized by the UV radiation of the central star. For another one, the Bubble Nebula, the classification of the central star as a WR star is not clear. 

 

 

WR93 and NGC 6357/Sharpless 11 in Scorpius

17 25 09     -34 11 12

 

 

This is a WR star in the War and Peace Nebula NGC 6357, which makes it just above the horizon at our latitudes

 

 

Observing notes with 16" f/4.5

Only the central part of this large HII region could be observed. With OIII, this part is relatively bright and appears not homogeneous, but distinctly mottled

 

 

 

 

 

WR127 and Sharpless 92 in Vulpecula

19 46 16    +28 16 19

 

 

WR 127 is the ionizing star of the Sharpless 92, an extremely faint HII region.

My observing notes with 22" f/4.5:

Observed with 32mm, UHC better than H beta. Extremely faint glow, dark side towards SW. Difficult to distinguish from the star field with filter.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

WR152/WR153 and Sharpless 132 in Cepheus

22 16 24   +55 37 37    WR152

22 18 46   +56 07 34    WR153

7.7846

Sharpless 132 is a fairly bright HII region in Cepheus.

WR 153 is at the center of the actual Sharpless nebula. WR 152 is a bit offset in the center of a high ionization region emitting mainly in OIII and hardly visible in the DSS image. It is marked in the lower, inverted image.

These are not typical WR shells created by the stellar winds of the progenitor stars, but rather molecular clouds ionized by the UV radiation of the WR and nearby O stars.

 

Observing notes with my 22" f/4.5 Dob:

Observed several times with OIII filter, very large faint nebula, with a round dark structure to the E. There is a very large (40') extension to the SW, that is hardly visible on the DSS image, but quite distinct at the eyepiece with OIII filter.  This area increases the size of the nebula to around 1.5°.

 

 

 

 

NGC 7635, the Bubble Nebula in Cassiopeia

23 20 48.3   +61 12 06

 

The information about the exciting star of NGC 7635 are ambiguous. Though often identified with a WR star, some reports list the central star as a "normal" O star and not (not yet?) a WR star.

The Bubble nebula is more difficult than it would appear from its many images. The area involves some faint nebulosity with the bubble being in its brightest part. The bubble starts at a relatively bright, small and wedge-shaped area and can be followed visually over about 90 degrees from N to E (with OIII filter).

 

wikipedia

 

 

 

 

 

Some Wolf-Rayet shells of the Southern Skies

WR 40 and RCW 58 in Carina

11 06 17    -65 30 35

 

Don Goldman

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

WR 75 and RCW 104 in Norma

16 24 26    -51 32 06

 

 

 

WR 18 and NGC 3199 in Carina

10 17 02    -57 54 47

 

 

WR23 in Carina

10 41 38   -58 46 19

 

WR16 in Carina

09 54 53   -57 43 38

 

Don Goldman

image credit: DSS

home

<> <>

home

wolf-rayet nebel

 

Sharpless 308 von Marco Lorenzi

 

Wolf-Rayet (WR) Sterne sind sind ein Entwicklungsstadium supermassiver Sterne mit mehr als 20 Sonnenmassen. Als WR-Sterne haben sie die Hauptreihe verlassen und werden in absehbarer Zeit zu Supernovas. Während dieser Entwicklung weg von der Hauptreihe bläst sich der Stern bis jenseits seiner Roche-Grenze auf, so dass die äußeren Schichten des Sterns als starker stellarer Wind fort geblasen werden. Der verbleibende Kern des Sterns bildet den eigentlichen WR-Stern, der mit 30000 bis 120000 K extrem heiß ist, damit vor allem im UV strahlt und somit im sichtbaren Spektralbereich gar nicht so hell sein muss.

Eines der  spektralen Merkmale für WR-Sterne ist die Anwesenheit von breiten Emissionslinien von Helium und höheren Elementen ("Metallen"), die auf den hoch beschleunigten stellaren Wind zurück zu führen sind, sowie in der Regel die Abwesenheit von Absorptionslinien von Wasserstoff. Die spektralen Eigenschaften dieser Sterne wurden entdeckt von Charles Wolf und Georges Rayet in den 1860ern Jahren und waren zunächst verwirrend eben aufgrund dieser Emissionsbanden in einem ansonsten kontinuierlichen Spektrum.

image credit: www.threehillsobservatory.co.uk

Das Spektrum von WR135 im Schwan von Amateurastronom Robin Leadbeater ist dominiert von den intensiven, stark verbreiterten Emissionsbanden des stellaren Winds, die dem kontinuierlichen Schwarzkörper-Spektrum des eigentlichen Sterns überlagert sind.

Der stellare Wind der WR-Sterne kann in manchen Fällen blasenförmige Nebelschalen hervor rufen, die oft sehr starke OIII-Emission besitzen. Aufgrund dieses hohen [OIII]-Anteils (und natürlich ihrer Struktur) sind sie sehr interessante Objekte für die Beobachtung.

 

Wie entstehen Wolf-Rayet-Ringnebel?

Gruendl und Kollegen haben ein relativ einfaches Modell für die Morphologie von WR-Ringnebeln vorgeschlagen, das auf Vorarbeiten und dem "Three-wind model" von Garcia-Segura und Kollegen beruht.

WR-Ringnebel entstehen als Schockfront zweier stellarer Winde, die vom Stern zu unterschiedlichen Zeiten abgeblasen wurden. Während seiner Hauptreihenphase ist der WR-Vorläuferstern ein heißer massiver Stern der Spektralklasse O, der durch seinen enormen Strahlungsdruck seine direkte Umgebung mehr oder weniger frei bläst (der erste Wind im "three wind model") und eine lokale Blase im interstellaren Medium um den Stern herum schafft. Dieser erste "dünne" (aber schnelle) Wind hat typische Geschwindigkeiten von 103 km/s und Massenverlustraten von 10-6 bis 10-7 Sonnenmassen pro Jahr.

Nach der Hauptreihenphase, wenn der Kern des Sterns im Stadium des Schalenbrennens ist und sich zu einem Roten Überriesen (red super giant, RSG) aufbläst, sind die äußeren Atmosphärenschichten nicht mehr sehr fest an den Stern gebunden und werden teilweise in einem relativ dichten "langsamen Wind" oder RSG-Wind abgeblasen. Dieser RSG-Wind hat typische Geschwindigkeiten von 10 bis 25 km/s und Massenverlustraten von 10-4 bis 10-5 Sonnenmassen pro Jahr. 

Dieser stellare Wind wird sehr viel schneller in der WR-Phase mit typischen Geschwindigkeiten von wieder 103 km/s und Massenverlustraten von 10-4 bis 10-5 Sonnenmassen pro Jahr. Wenn nun dieser starke und schnelle WR-Wind auf Material des langsameren RSG-Winds trifft, bildet sich eine Schockfront aus, der WR-Ringnebel. Dieser WR-Ringnebel befindet sich innerhalb der interstellaren Blase, die durch den ersten Wind in der Hauptreihenphase gebildet wurde. Später wird der WR-Wind durch den RSG-Wind durch brechen und sich direkt in diese interstellare Blase ausbreiten.

 

Struktur von Wolf-Rayet-Ringnebeln

Wie kommt es nun zu den vielen unterschiedlichen beobachtbaren Strukturen der WR-Ringnebel? Gründl und Kollegen schlagen einen relativ einfachen Mechanismus vor, der vor allem darauf basiert, dass die Aussendung von HII und [OIII] auf unterschiedlichen Anregungsmechanismen beruht. Während das angeregte Niveau des der [OIII]-Strahlung zu Grunde liegenden Übergangs der Sauerstoffionen vorwiegend durch Kollision besetzt wird, beruht die Emission von HII auf der Rekombination von ionisiertem Wasserstoff (Protonen) mit freien Elektronen. Während die Emission von [OIII] somit mit steigender Temperatur zu nimmt,  sinkt die Intensität in den HII-Linien mit steigender Temperatur, da die Rekombination zunehmend schwieriger wird.

Trifft nun der schnelle WR-Wind auf den langsameren RSG-Wind, so ist die entstehende Schockfront  an ihrer Vorderseite sehr heiß, so dass dort hauptsächlich [OIII] emittiert wird. Durch Strahlungskühlung verringert sich die Temperatur in den Bereichen, die näher zum zentralen WR-Stern liegen, so dass von diesen weiter innen liegenden Regionen auch HII-Emission ausgesandt wird.

Diese Abkühlung ist umso effizienter, je höher die Dichte an der Schockfront ist. Bei hoher Dichte und somit rascher Temperaturabnahme folgen die Bereiche mit HII-Strahlung der vorderen in [OIII] strahlenden Front direkt nach. Ist die Dichte geringer, werden [OIII]- und HII-Bereiche räumlich stärker getrennt. Bei sehr geringen Dichten bzw. starken Dichteunterschieden, sehen wir in [OIII] die vorderste Schockfront und in HII die dichteren inneren Bereiche. Dichteunterschiede können somit auch zu "Ausbeulungen" der [OIII]-Schalen führen, sogenannten Breakout-Strukturen. Breakout-Strukturen kann man zum Beispiel beim Crescent-Nebel und Sharpless 308 beobachten.

In ihrem Paper untersuchen Gruendl et al. eine Reihe von WR-Ringnebeln und versuchen mit Hilfe von [OIII]- und H-alpha-Aufnahmen die sehr unterschiedlichen Erscheinungsformen von WR-Nebeln auf diesen relativ einfachen Mechanismus zurück zu führen.

 

Papers

Gruendl RA, Chu YH, Dunne BC, Points SD (2000) A morphological diagnostic for dynamical evolution of Wolf-Rayet bubbles. Astronomical Journal 120: 2670-2678

Garcia-Segura and Mac Low (1995) Astrophysical Journal 455:145

Garcia-Segura and Mac Low (1995) Astrophysical Journal 455:160

Heckathorn et al. (1982) Astrophysical Journal 252:230

Chu, Treffers and Kwitter (1983) Astrophysical Journal S53:937

 

Aufsuchkarten der WR-Nebel zum Download als pdf File

 

Beobachtungen

EZ CMa (WR6) und Sharpless 308 in Canis Major

06 54 13    -23 55 42

 

Ausgangspunkt zu Sharpless 308 ist o1 CMa. Dieser Stern ist eingebettet in den Offenen Haufen Collinder 121, der selbst im Fernglas recht unspektakulär wirkt und kaum als Haufen erkennbar ist. Mit o1 CMa mittig im Übersichtsokular des Teleskops erlebt man eine Überraschung, sobald man auf OIII-Filterung wechselt (am spektakulärsten natürlich mit Filterschieber oder Filterrad, da man dann einen direkten Vorher-nachher-Vergleich hat). Der OIII-Filter lässt eine geisterhafte Sichel aus Gas erscheinen, die sich von o1 CMa zunächst nach NW, später nach N als Teil einer riesigen, etwa 40' messenden Blase vor dem Himmelshintergrund abhebt. Diese Blase, die mit o1 CMa selbst gar nichts zu tun hat, ist die abgewehte äußere Atmosphäre des WR Sterns  EZ CMa (or WR 6), der etwa 20' nördlich von o1 CMa steht und das Zentrum der Blase markiert.

 

Die westliche Sichel ist der hellste Bereich der WR-Blase und am Okular meines 14" Dobson mit OIII-Filter am einfachsten zu verfolgen. Nach NW hin wird die Sichel schwächer, dort erkennt man in der Abbildung rechts oder auf anderen tiefen Linienfilteraufnahmen von Don Goldman oder Marco Lorenzi (siehe auch ganz oben auf dieser Seite) auch ein Aufbrechen der Blase und eine Verringerung der Oberflächenhelligkeit.

Mit meinem 22" Dobson kann ich die Blase über diesen Bereich hinaus verfolgen. Im Bereich von etwa 11 Uhr vom zentralen WR-Stern aus gesehen befindet sich eine weitere Verdichtung, in der die Blase wieder heller wird, bevor sie sich im östlichen Teil mehr und mehr verliert.

Unter exzellenten Bedingungen schließlich mit perfekter Horizontsicht konnte ich auch schon die gesamte Blase beobachten, inklusive des östlichen Teils, der den Kreis  zu o1 CMa hin schließt. Mit 7mm AP ist dann zudem auch klar erkennbar, dass die komplette Blase mit schwacher OIII-Emission gefüllt ist. Bei kleineren Austrittspupillen verliert sich dieser Eindruck.

 

image by Marco Lorenzi

image by Don Goldman

image by Anis Abdul

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

WR7 und Thors Helm NGC 2359 in Canis Major

07 18 29    -13 13 02

 

Thors Helm (auch Entennebel genannt) ist ein heller, sehr auffälliger und stark strukturierter Nebel, der wie die meisten WR-Nebel extrem gut auf OIII Filter anspricht.

 

Die zentrale Blase der WR-Schale erscheint im Okular stark strukturiert. Ein heller Balken erstreckt sich von der S Seite der Blase nach WSW. Außerdem sind noch mehrere weitere Ausläufer zu sehen, die sich nach NW und NE erstrecken.

 

wikipedia

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

WR102 and G2.4 +1.4 in Sagittarius

17 45 48   -26 10 27

 

Diese WR-Schale befindet sich in einem dichten Sternfeld im Schützen.

 

Noch nicht beobachtet.

 

 

WR124 (Merrill's Star) und Sharpless 80/M1-67 in Sagitta

19 11 31   +16 51 38

 

Sharpless 80 aka Minkowski 1-67 ist eine extrem schwache Schale um WR 124. Ganz untypisch für eine WR-Schale hat Sharpless 80 kaum OIII-Emission, sondern vor allem NII und (etwas weniger) HII.

 

Meine Beobachtungsaufzeichnungen mit meinem  22" Dob:

08/2008: nicht erfolgreich

06/2010: nur vermutet als schwacher glow um den WR-Stern mit H-beta-Filter.

10/2010: bei 350x und mit H beta Filter, als diffuser glow um den WR-Stern gesehen.

08/2012: Exzellente Bedingungen, bei 200x und 350x schon ohne Filter als extrem schwache runde Aufhellung um den WR-Stern zu sehen. Mitbeobachter bestätigen die Sichtung. Mit H-beta geringfügig erhöhter Kontrast.

www.eso.org

 

 

 

 

 

WR128-Schale in Sagitta

19 48 32   +18 12 04

 

Dies ist eine extrem schwache WR-Schale im Pfeil, in der Nähe von Sharpless 84 (teilweise in der oberen linken Ecke auf dem DSS Bild rechts zu sehen).

Während zweier Beobachtungsnächte mit meinem 22" f/4.5 Dob und dem 13mm Nagler mit OIII-Filter habe ich ein Segment im NE-Teil der Schale als extrem schwaches Filament vermutet. Dies entspricht dem hellsten Teil in der OIII-Aufnahme von Gruendl.

Lionel Mulato hat als erster eine exzellente Linienfilteraufnahme dieses WR Nebels aufgenommen, welche auf eine elongierte Struktur der Nebelschale hin deutet.

image by Lionel Mulato

 

 

 

 

 

 

WR134-Schale in Cygnus

20 10 14    +36 10 35

 

Diese Wolf-Rayet-Blase hat keine Katalogbezeichnung, obwohl sie auf dem DSS relativ deutlich zu sehen ist. Als ich diese Blase im Frühjahr 2009 zum ersten Mal beobachtete, wusste ich nur von einer einzigen Beobachtung durch Matthias Kronberger. Aufmerksam wurde ich auf dieses Objekt aufgrund einer Linienfilteraufnahme von JP Metsävainio. Die WR-Blase ist auf diesem Mosaik auf dem rechten Teil als auffällig blaue OIII-Sichel zu erkennen (in der Hubble-Palette-Version).

Die Blase befindet sich grob auf halbem Weg zwischen dem Tulip-Nebel Sharpless 101 und dem Crescent-Nebel NGC 6888. Mit meinem 22-Zöller ist die Wolf-Rayet-Blase ohne Filter nicht zu sehen, reagiert aber extrem gut auf OIII-Filter. Sie erscheint dann als grob 15 Bogenminute große Sichel, die nach Osten offen ist, ähnlich der WR-Shell Sharpless 308 in Canis Major, die jedoch um einiges größer ist.

Diese WR-Schale ist alles andere als schwierig oder obskur und ist schon mit meinem 8" Dobson und OIII-Filter von meinem Garten unter Vorstadt-Bedingungen schwach zu sehen.

Die Zuordnung der Schale zu WR134 ist nicht eindeutig, obwohl WR134 im Zentrum der Blase steht (der mittlere Stern in der auffälligen Dreier-Gruppe). Vielmehr könnte auch WR135, ein weiterer WR-Stern 8. Größenklasse, der etwa 15 Bogenminuten östlich von WR134 steht, der Ursprung der Schale sein. Hierfür würde auch die weitere OIII-Emission auf der oben verlinkten Aufnahme sprechen.

Weitere fantastische Aufnahmen dieser WR-Blase gibt es von Don Goldman und Travis Rector.

 

iopscience.iop.org/1538-3881/118/5/2394

adsabs.harvard.edu/abs/2009AstL...35..121S

DSS

narrowband image by Lionel Mulato, mouseover: OIII

 

 

 

 

 

WR136 und der Crescent-Nebel NGC 6888 in Cygnus

20 12 07   +38 21 18

7.7846

Der Crescent-Nebel ist ein relativ heller Nebel und reagiert ebenfalls extrem gut auf OIII-Filter. Mit OIII-Filter ist er selbst mit meinem 10x50 Fernglas schwach aber sicher zu sehen.

Mit einem großen Teleskop ist der Nebel schon ohne Filter schwach sichtbar. Mit OIII-Filter ist er ein helles Objekt mit einer eindrücklichen sichelförmigen Schockfront nach NW und einer schwächer definierten Begrenzung in die Gegenrichtung.  Entlang der NW-Schockfront gibt es hellere Segmente, besonders genau N des mag 7.5 WR Zentralsterns. Das Innere des Nebels erscheint erfüllt mit schwachen Filamenten. Ein etwas helleres Filament erstreckt sich vom WR-Stern nach SE und weitere hellere Filamente befinden sich im SW-Teil der Schale.

Der Nebel besitzt eine Breakout-Struktur  der WR-Schale in die interstellare Blase nach WNW, die sich als Ausstülpung der WR-Schale auf OIII-Aufnahmen zeigt. Diese Ausstülpung ist auch im Okular sichtbar und erstreckt sich bis zu einem vorgelagerten Mag 8.0 Feldstern. 

 

wikipedia

 

 

Crescent Nebel in OIII und HII (mouseover) by Dean Salman

 

 

WR157 und Sharpless 157 in Cassiopeia/Cepheus

23 15 12    +60 27 02

 

Sharpless 157 befindet sich nicht weit vom Bubble-Nebel im Grenzgebiet Cassiopeia/Cepheus, einer Gegend mit vielen weiteren Emissionsnebeln. Mit OIII-Filter ist das Hauptfilament als großes und deutliches milchiges Band sichtbar, das von weiteren schwächeren Filamenten umgeben ist.

 

Meine Beobachtungsaufzeichnungen (zusammen mit der beschrifteten Aufnahme rechts):

08/2005: Ein sehr langes und relativ helles Filament in NS-Richtung ist einfach sichtbar und reagiert sehr gut auf OIII-Filter. S157a (heller Knoten im zentralen Teil) am besten mit H-beta.

11/2011: Hauptfilament N/S-orientiert ist am auffälligsten (OIII-Filter). Schwacher Bereich E davon (OIII-Filter). Ein weiteres kürzeres und schwächeres Filament ist W des Hauptfilaments (OIII-Filter). S-Teil des Nebels diffuser (H-beta > OIII), bestehend aus zwei Bereichen  von denen der E-Bereich 157a enthält.

narrowband image by Dean Salman

OIIII and HII channel (mouseover) of the above image

 

 

 

 

"Untypische" oder unsichere Wolf-Rayet-Nebel

"Untypisch" heißt hier, dass der Nebel vermutlich nicht durch den Sternenwind des WR-Sterns geformt wird und somit keinen typischer Wolf-Rayet-Ring-Nebel bildet. Vielmehr stellt der Nebel eine (teils hoch angeregte) HII-Region dar, die durch die UV-Strahlung des Sterns ionisiert wird. In einem Fall, dem Bubble-Nebel, ist die Klassifizierung des zentralen Sterns nicht eindeutig.

 

 

WR93 und NGC 6357/Sharpless 11 in Scorpius

17 25 09     -34 11 12

 

 

WR93 ist im Zentrum des War and Peace Nebels NGC 6357, der in unseren Breiten leider knapp zwei Daumen breit über den Horizont kommt

 

 

Beobachtung mit 16" f/4.5

Bei Kulmination steht diese Region gerade mal 5° über dem Horizont.

Nur der zentrale Teil dieser großen HII-Region konnte beobachtet werden. Mit OIII-Filter ist dieser Teil relativ hell und erscheint nicht homogen sondern auffallend körnig.

 

 

 

 

 

WR127 und Sharpless 92 in Vulpecula

19 46 16    +28 16 19

 

 

WR127 ist der ionisierende Stern von Sharpless 92, einer extrem schwachen HII-Region.

 

Meine Beobachtungen mit 22" f/4.5:

Beobachtet mit 32mm (7mm AP), UHC besser als H-beta. Extrem schwache Aufhellung, dunkle Abgrenzung nach SW. Schwierig vom Sternenhintergrund zu trennen mit Filter.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

WR152/WR153 und Sharpless 132 in Cepheus

22 16 24   +55 37 37    WR152

22 18 46   +56 07 34    WR153

7.

Sharpless 132 ist eine recht helle HII Region in Cepheus.

WR153 steht im Zentrum des eigentlichen Sharpless-Nebels. WR152 steht etwas außerhalb in einem hoch ionisierten Ausläufer, der fast ausschließlich in OIII strahlt (im DSS kaum sichtbar, auf der invertierten Aufnahme markiert).

Dies sind keine typischen, durch den Sternwind hervorgerufenen WR-Schalen, sondern vermutlich eher Molekülwolken, die durch die UV-Strahlung der WR-Sterne und weitere umgebende O-Sterne ionisiert werden.

 

Beobachtungsaufzeichnungen mit meinem 22" f/4.5 Dob:

Mit OIII-Filter, sehr großer Nebel, schwache, runde Dunkelstruktur nach E hin. Sehr großer OIII-Ausläufer aus dem eigentlichen Sh 132 nach SW, kaum sichtbar auf dem DSS, aber auffällig im Okular mit Filter, etwa 40', erweitert die Größe des Nebels auf grob 1.5°.

 

 

 

 

NGC 7635, der Bubble-Nebel in Cassiopeia

23 20 48.3   +61 12 06

 

Die Informationen über den anregenden Stern von NGC 7635 gehen auseinander. Während er in einigen Quellen als WR-Stern beschrieben wird, wird er von anderen als "normaler" O-Stern geführt, der (noch) kein WR-Stern ist.

Der Bubble-Nebel ist weitaus schwieriger als man von Aufnahmen her vermuten würde. Der Bereich enthält schwache, aber gut sichtbare HII-Gebiete von denen die Blase den hellsten Bereich darstellt. Die Blase setzt an einem recht hellen, kleinen und keilförmigen Nebel an und kann visuell über etwa 90 Grad von N nach E mit OIII-Filter verfolgt werden.

 

wikipedia

 

 

 

 

 

Weitere Wolf-Rayet Schalen des Südhimmels

WR40 und RCW 58 in Carina

11 06 17    -65 30 35

 

Don Goldman

 

 

 

 

 

WR75 und RCW 104 in Norma

16 24 26    -51 32 06

 

 

 

WR18 und NGC 3199 in Carina

10 17 02    -57 54 47

 

 

WR23 in Carina

10 41 38   -58 46 19

 

WR16 in Carina

09 54 53   -57 43 38

 

Don Goldman

image credit: DSS

home

<> <>